A new visitor

Whilst enjoying the late sunshine in the garden this afternoon, I noticed a visitor I’d not seen before:

Gatekeeper butterfly

Gatekeeper butterfly

Rather than just fluttering by, she stayed for quite some time. Her attention had been caught by my flowering oregano. I’ve not grown this before. Thyme, yes. Oregano, no. However, it is also proving to be a favourite with the bees:

Honey bee on oregano

Honey bee on oregano

I had anticipated a certain amount of interest from the bees. However, I hadn’t expected it to be quite such a favourite. Clearly, oregano nectar is something a bit special. Food of the gods – or so it would seem. So now I have a little corner of heaven in my garden 🙂

Leave a Reply

